Featured Song: Swanheart

Continuing the exploration of Nightwish‘s work that began with their “Phantom of the Opera” cover and continued with “Ever Dream”, I’d like to share today one of my favourite songs of theirs: “Swanheart”, from their 1998 album Oceanborn.

This hauntingly beautiful song laments society’s shallow obsession with outward, physical manifestations of beauty, often overlooking and under-appreciating beauty that lies within, in the heart.

Oceanborn was Nightwish’s breakout album, the first that brought them international recognition. The production quality is not yet as polished as on later releases, but I nevertheless enjoy the album very much; it’s full to the brim with raw energy and emotion.

To check out Swanheart, I recommend this video (not embedded due to YouTube restrictions), which is of a live concert in Tampere, Finland in 2000 that was filmed and released on DVD under the title From Wishes to Eternity.

Featured lyrics:

All those beautiful people
I want to have them
I want to have them all
All those porcelain models
If only I could
If only I could make them fall

Full lyrics, along with some discussion, can be found here.

About botondballo

I am a recent graduate of the University of Toronto, with a degree in Computer Science. I currently work for Mozilla as a software engineer.
This entry was posted in featured song, music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

