Featured Song: Tear the World Down

The very first band I featured in this series was Evanescence, whom I’ve described as my “gateway” to symphonic metal.

While I’ve largely moved on to bands more firmly in that genre, I still like Evanescence, and I was excited when I found out in 2009 that three former Evanescence members got together to organize a new band, We Are the Fallen (WATF). (Evanescence themselves would return from hiatus not long thereafter and put out a 2011 album.)

WATF’s name is a reference to Evanescence’s 2003 album Fallen, which is the last Evanescence album that WATF band leader Ben Moody was involved in; he felt that WATF was a continuation of the musical style that he helped pioneer on Fallen.

WATF released the first (and to date only) album, Tear the World Down, in 2010. The whole album’s quite good, but the song that stands out to me the most is the title track; it’s a magnificent, brilliantly composed, and heart-wrenching piece. Unfortunately, the production quality is rather poor, especially when it comes to the choral parts, but if you can look past that, there’s a lot to enjoy.



Lyrics can be found here.

About botondballo

I am a recent graduate of the University of Toronto, with a degree in Computer Science. I currently work for Mozilla as a software engineer.
This entry was posted in featured song, music. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Featured Song: Tear the World Down

  1. Pingback: Featured Song: My Heart, Your Hands | There's Waldo!

Leave a Reply

